The General Data Protection Regulation or GDPR gives citizens of the European Economic Area (EEA) certain rights when they use services that process personal data. In order to allow you to exercise these rights, CallsApp made changes so you can now better control your data on the app.
Before we elaborate on how you can exercise your GDPR rights, we want to remind you of the additional rights CallsApp users enjoy just by being CallsApp users.
The right to private and secure chats
The CallsApp standard: We can’t read or listen to any of your private chats and calls because they are protected by end-to-end encryption by default. On CallsApp it is automatically in place as soon as you start sending messages or making calls with the app without any need for you to turn on your encryption settings. CallsApp can’t sell your privacy, simply because we can’t access your private chats.
The right to delete messages you regret sending
CallsApp lets you delete any type of message you’ve sent for both yourself and the people you’ve sent it to. This means whatever you decided to delete will no longer appear on your device or on your friend’s device, even if they have already seen it. You don’t even have to worry about how long it’s been since you sent your message since you can delete it at any time.
The right to send disappearing messages with a self-destruct timer
When you have something extra sensitive to say, Secret Chats let you set a self-destruct timer for every message in the conversation. Every message in a Secret Chat is automatically deleted from all members of the chat’s phones once it has been read. Secret Chats also have inbuilt screenshot protection – Android users can’t take a screenshot, and if someone on an iPhone takes a screenshot, you will receive a notification.
The right to keep your personal chats your own
CallsApp doesn’t store your personal chats. Messages that are delivered aren’t copied onto CallsApp’s servers. If your friend’s phone is off or they don’t have an internet connection, your message will wait patiently, safe and encrypted, on CallsApp’s servers for a limited time or until their device is ready to receive it.
The right to be informed
The right to rectification
If you believe we have the wrong data about you, or that your data is incomplete, feel free to change it at any time through the profile settings on your CallsApp settings on your mobile device. If you can’t find what you are looking for, contact us.
The right to erasure
We have made it easy for you to delete your historical data on the app while continuing to use the app. Simply open a ticket in the account tab. We will delete the data which we are not otherwise required to keep or is necessary for the provision of the service. And no need to worry – deleting your data won’t remove the chats on your CallsApp app on your phone.
The right to restrict processing
We allow you to opt-out of certain processing of your data by using the CallsApp privacy settings on your mobile device. You can decide which processing operations you want to opt out of. You can also change the settings on your mobile device operating system at any time to prevent us from gaining access to certain data such as your accurate location – but this may negatively impact your user experience.
The right to data portability
We have created a request for your data button in CallsApp’s privacy settings on your mobile device to make a simple way for you to access the data connected to your account. Once it is ready, you will receive a file from CallsApp containing this data.
The right of access
The right to object
On top of the ability to opt-out of processing by changing your settings, you can object to the processing of certain forms of data by contacting our support. Complete this online form and explain your special circumstances. If you receive emails from us, you can always opt-out at the bottom of the email, or by contacting our support.
The right to appeal automated decisions and profiling